NICE and CQC chair appointments confirmed

pharmafield logo - pharma news

 The new chairs of the National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE) and the Care Quality Commission (CQC) have been confirmed.

Following the announcement of David Haslam and David Prior as the Government’s preferred candidates for the two roles, both have been approved by the Health Select Committee.

New NICE chair David Haslam (pictured) is currently National Clinical Adviser to the CQC and chair of NICE’s Evidence Accreditation Advisory Board.

Haslam is a former GP, BMA president and chair of the Royal College of General Practitioners. His appointment can be seen as an attempt to give the GP profession a clearer voice in the NHS.

He will replace Sir Michael Rawlins, chair of NICE since its inception in 2000, in April 2013 – when NICE will extend its remit to social care.

Health Secretary Jeremy Hunt said that Haslam “will bring to this important role a wealth of skills and experience from his distinguished career as both a front line GP and a respected clinical leader.”

David Prior, who will take up the post of CQC chair at the end of January, is currently chair of Norfolk and Norwich University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust.

He is a former Conservative MP for North Norfolk, and his appointment represents a consolidation of the NHS reform agenda.

Hunt commented: “David brings a wealth of experience to this significant position, as the chair of a foundation trust, a large comprehensive school, and experience in the private sector.”

Prior said: “I do not underestimate the scale of the challenge ahead but look forward to working with the chief executive, David Behan, and the whole of the organisation to ensure CQC is absolutely clear to the general public about the quality of services it inspects: when services are good and when they are not.”